Author Topic: New 90, what's recommended.  (Read 6649 times)

Fortytwo

• Trade Count: (0)
New 90, what's recommended.
« on: July 15, 2012, 09:39:41 AM »
Hello,
 I just purchased a bs 90 from a buddy,  his wife's family drove it into a shed 15 years ago and never used it since.  I am new to two cycle engines.  I want to get it running before I do too much.
  What kind of two cycle oil do people use in the I ejection system?
  Here's is my plan please tell me what I am missing and might need.
  Replace spark plug,  replace fuel and oil lines, change transmission oil.  I need a air filter, ad side knob, and both pieces of air filter rubber. For sure.

What am I missing or what advice can you give.  It has good compression, I haven't checked spark yet.  It's still in his custody so I don't even knowme trim package,  just that it's a oil injected.
Thanks
Ed

Offline old smokey

• Master Registered Bridgestone Member
Re: New 90, what's recommended.
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 11:09:59 AM »
Welcome to the site.
I've used Yamalube 2S for my 350, although Reed likes Klotz.
I think you've got the basics for seeing if the motor will run.
'67 350 GTR undergoing repairs with a '75 Yamaha TX500 front end

paul

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2012, 03:02:21 PM »
 Was it running when parked? After sitting  for 15 years, a little pre lube might be in order.  put a few drops of Yamalube down the spark plug hole and turn the engine over by hand without the plug in it. OLd Smokey? Is there a way to check the oil pump before he tries to start it??

Fortytwo

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2012, 05:20:51 PM »
Good stuff,
  I'll pick up the oils and plug tomorrow.  Now since I don't have the bike home yet does anyone know off hand what size lines I should get?
Ed

Offline old smokey

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2012, 08:10:50 PM »