Author Topic: Any words of wisdom regarding frame and engine painting?  (Read 5792 times)

paul25g

• Trade Count: (0)
Any words of wisdom regarding frame and engine painting?
« on: July 09, 2009, 11:12:49 AM »
Hi all,

I’m getting ready to repaint my 175DTs frame and engine.  I’m new to this so have a few questions.

I plan on sandblasting the frame and using walnut shells to blast the engine case.  I have a few questions in regards to the type and amount of paints to use.

First of all, in regards to the frame and engine, would it be better to use laquer or enamel and how many coats?

Would the engine need a high temp paint?

After priming and top coating the frame, should I spray some clear coat?

Would the engine case need primed before a top coat?  Would the engine case need a clear coat after the top coat?

Any other suggestions or words of wisdom in regards to painting?

Thanks in advance!

Paul

duckman86

Re: Any words of wisdom regarding frame and engine painting?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 09:11:08 PM »
I'm afraid i can't help you too much but i used hi temp 500 F on my engine and it works great. I wouldn't recommend using stuff not rated for heat as i have done this in the past and it always blackens... burns off and burns into the metal. let me know how it go's I'm thinking of repainting my 90

rocketman

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 07:19:58 AM »