Author Topic: What do we know about the different models?  (Read 4909 times)

Offline dcr

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Expert Registered Bridgestone Member
What do we know about the different models?
« on: October 21, 2013, 03:50:50 PM »
I am still new to the Bridgestone world. I have read a ton of stuff on this site as well as some other stuff that is out there on the net. I think i have a handle on the history of the company and their marketing methods as well as what bikes they produced. What I cant seem to determine is the details of the product line. For example, I bought BS 90 Sport that was beat half to death with no title or any paperwork whatsoever. I found the article on VIN numbers on this site and have determined the 18 E 004672 means it was manufactured in May of an even year which could be 64, 66 or 68. With a low number, can i assume it was 64? All the pictures i find have the sport with a painted and chrome tank. Mine is all chrome, no paint. Was there different tanks styles on different bikes? How about the seats? Did some come with single seats and others with a double seat?

Whats the difference between the Deluxe and the Sport? Other than the sport has BS stickers on the tank and the Deluxe has the screwed in BS emblems. 

I have been at car shows and heard guys say "that isnt an authentic GTO, its a Tempest - you can tell by the window trim". Are the Bridgestone bikes similar?

All my rambling above is intended to spark some discussion of what you guys know about the details of the bike models and their history and isn't exclusive to the 90's.
1966 175 DT and 1968 350 GTR

Offline old smokey

• Master Registered Bridgestone Member
Re: What do we know about the different models?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2013, 09:19:07 PM »
I'm wondering if the bike being in rough shape is making it hard to tell where the chrome ends and where the paint used to be?
'67 350 GTR undergoing repairs with a '75 Yamaha TX500 front end

Offline disc_valve