Forum > Engine

When is a carburetor beyond rebuilding?

(1/3) > >>

MZ250:
Good afternoon, folks! I am working on an old carb, and am looking for advice regarding whether it's worth the trouble to rebuild. It has a bit of white, crusty build-up in the bowl and float chamber, having sat for a few decades. I got a kit with all gaskets, float valve, needle valve, adjustment screws, springs and clips. Advice I have found elsewhere on the web says that a carb with internal oxidation is beyond repair and should be entirely renewed. Is this accurate, or is there hope yet? The last carb I cleaned and reused (of similar age and condition) worked only for one day, then, in spite of repeated vigorous cleanings, NEVER ran the bike again, and I had to replace it. I did not use a full rebuild kit.  I have limited experience in such matters, and I am hoping that some of the more seasoned of you out there may be willing to offer their two pence. Much obliged!

coxy:
You may need ultra sonic cleaning. Steve Reed may be able to help you

slawsonb:
The ultrasonic cleaning advice is best, but a good set of small brushes and lots elbow grease will go a long way. My vote is that all is not lost.
...bert

MZ250:
Excellent, thanks for your prompt replies! I almost forgot, I do have an ultrasonic cleaner, albeit a cheap one. I will give that a go, as I have already applied quite a bit of brushed on elbow grease, if you will...

Old BS Guy: