Author Topic: BS MII-RS Barn Find  (Read 1226 times)

bwagehoft

• Trade Count: (0)
BS MII-RS Barn Find
« on: July 10, 2018, 08:46:33 PM »
Hello All! I am new to the Bridgestone scene. I have worked on bikes before with my grandfather, but I felt like this summer I needed to take the training wheels off and do a bike on my own. I found a BS Mach II - RS on CL that someone pulled outta a storage shed. Its definitely a barn bike and I am definitely in over my head here.

I have enough experience to do the mechanical breakdown and cleaning, but the electrical is giving me problems. I am super lost there and its starting to just take up space in the garage. Work has also ramped up which is good for me, but bad for my projects. Any advice would be great. If I can't figure it out I'll probably have to let someone take it off my hands for a reasonable price so they can do right by these bikes. I've seen them up close in good condition and it deserves it.

Offline OldSwartout

• Global Moderator
Re: BS MII-RS Barn Find
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2018, 08:14:00 AM »
There are two service manuals downloadable from this site if you haven't already done so; The 50-175 Service Manual and the 175 Technical Manual.  Both have the electrical schematic with color codes annotated, which will help.  You may need to replace the rectifier as few survived the years, especially if stored poorly.  There are a few threads on here about replacing the selenium rectifier with diodes (175/200/350 are the same).  However, you can at least get it running with a non-working rectifier, your battery just won't stay charged.
Karl Swartout
Mooresville, IN
BS175 Roadracer. BS200RS, BS350 GTR

Offline slawsonb

• Master Registered Bridgestone Member
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2018, 02:47:34 PM »
Don't give up on doing the resto yourself. There are a bunch of willing helpful hands on here, so ask questions as they come up. I'll bet you'll do fine...
...bert

Offline Steve Swan

• Full Bridgestone Member